Tags

, , , , ,

I was first introduced to the works of Ray Bradbury, when I was in secondary schol, for our english project we had to read Farenheit 451, I admit than when the teacger handed me the wallpaper cover book I was singularly unimpressed.

I was first introduced to the works of Ray Bradbury, when I was in secondary schol, for our english project we had to read Farenheit 451, I admit than when the teacger handed me the wallpaper cover book I was singularly unimpressed.

I wasnt a fan of sci-fi I was more of a humourist, my passion was in writing sketches and comedy stories reading pg wodehouse.

it took me quite a few pages to get in to the story, I could tell it wasnt going to be an easy book to get through.

after a few pages however, I found myself getting engrossed in the words on the page, living the tale.

Feeling horror at the burning’s and the deep grief over the idea of those people losing their lives for the written word, from the perspective of a teenager with easy access to literature it was hard to assimilate the ideea, but I got there in the end.

Farenheit 451 lead on to the Martian chronicles which I found quite an easy read, no where near as hard going as 451.

it allowed me to just let my mind wander, out to the red planet.

then although my love of sci-fi continued, my library did not seem to contain much Bradbury.

Assimov, Hubbard and HG Well’s certainly, but not much Bradbury.

I got older and drifted away from the genre, not having time to read, spending all my time working. and putting thoughts of drifting through space to the back of my mind while I concentrated on other matters.

Then in about 2009, I heard on the radio, the first of bradbury 13, adaptations and again I was hooked, back in the universe, back in the realms of the master. he was a man who loved to write and I imagine he kept writing all his life.

but I think the thing Ill remeber most of all is this very simple quote.

Live the life you want, Love what you do & do what you love.

we have lost a true master of the art of writing, a man who lived by his ethos, he loved what he did and did what he loved.

I can pick up many books by other authors and see his influence in so many ways, we may have lost a literary star, but there is a new star in heaven now…

